illuminatian

Cupcakes (chiffon style)

In Cake on July 12, 2009 at 6:48 pm

cupcake3

I got this recipe from a chinese cake baking book. They sell this type of “cupcake” in chinese bakeries. It’s very fluffy and airy and smells like eggs ( in a good way)

This is just the plain cake, flavored with a little bit of vanilla. I’m sure you can add whatever flavorings you want.

Here’s the Recipe

Chiffon CupCakes:

yields 8 large cupcakes

Yolk mixture:

40 grams milk

50 grams oil

70 grams egg yolk (about 4 large)

30 grams sugar

70 grams flour

10 grams cornstarch

1/4 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Egg White mixture:

160 grams egg whites (about 5 large)

1/2 tsp cream of tartar (i used lime juice)

80 grams sugar

1. beat egg whites with cream of tartar until it forms soft peaks. Add sugar gradually and peak to stiff peaks

2. Combine all yolk ingredients and mix until smooth

3. add 1/3 of egg whites to yolk mixture, and whisk to combine. Dump and yolk mixture back into the rest of the egg whites and fold gently until smooth and there are no more white streaks.

4. bake at 340F for 20 minutes in lines large muffin tins. I used creme brulee cups lined with foil

cupcake4

cupcake2

I’m thinking this would be nice topped with a whipped cream frosting…totally an asian cupcake

  1. Wow they look great! Good job!

  2. This looks delicious and I love this type of cakes, light and fluffy. We usually call this a sponge cake.

  3. that is weird measuring milk by weight…

    • the original recipe was in ml, but i converted using density since my scale only measures in grams. for water, 1 ml=1 gram, but it’s different for other liquids

  4. Whats the name of the book you found these in? They look delicious and I have been looking for a recipe everywhere!

    • I bought the book in China, so it’s in chinese. It’s suppose to be written by a professional pastry chef, so the recipes are spot on. Everything in the book is measured in grams, if you don’t have a scale, you can convert each ingredient at caloriecount website. there’s a recipe tool there that’ll help. Good luck with the chiffon cakes!

  5. hi i made this last week and it was yummy. thank you so much for the recipe. it is a definite keeper.

  6. What do you mean by fold gently until smooth and there are no white streaks? And the flour, can it be whole wheat flour? What about the sugar, does it have to be white sugar? this is the first time I make this, anything I have to be careful with or I’ll mess the whole thing up?

    • Hi Amanda!
      When combining the egg whites with other ingredients, use a large spoon to fold instead of mix so the whites don’t get deflated. Fold until you don’t see any more egg whites (white streaks).
      For the flour, I’ve never used wheat flour before, but it should work. Though I’m not sure how the texture of the cake might be effected due to difference in gluten content
      I’ve always used white sugar. Are you thinking about using brown sugar instead? brown sugar has more moisture so might deflate the egg whites some. Sugar substitute is not recommended because the sugar in the recipe acts as a stabilizer for whipping up the egg whites.

      Hope that helps, have fun!

  7. Thank you for posting this yummy recipe and keeping the measurements ‘as is’ in grams, as I prefer to weigh my ingredients too. These cupcakes taste exactly like the ones sold at the Chinese bakery. One question for you: Is it possible there is a small typo in the egg white mixture ingredients? It says “about 5 large” but I think it should state “about 4 large.” I followed the weight measurement regardless, but I thought I would ask. Thanks again. This is going in my permanent recipe file. I hope you post more from the Chinese bakery book.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

